Wacky Cake

Well, I am finally back from my vacation and I brought home the perfect souvenir. A recipe for the tastiest chocolate cake ever! This came straight from my grandmother in-laws kitchen. I don’t know why it is called a Wacky Cake. The only thing I find wacky is the fact that there are no eggs and it uses vinegar. I have never had a cake that was so rich in chocolate and so incredibly moist. It tastes great alone or it can be frosted. I made one tonight and I put peanut butter frosting on top. YUM! (I’ll try to post some pictures tomorrow 🙂 ) This one is a keeper!

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

2 cups white sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 tablespoons white vinegar

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

2/3 cup vegetable oil

2 cups cold water

Combine all ingredients and pour into a greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweet Stuff

Leave a comment